Show Data
BBC Radio 3 The Early Music Show
BBC Radio 3 The Early Music Show
  • Event 6
  • Sunday 5 July 2.00pm
    The Early Music Show
    Free to those attending other events in the York Early Music Festivall
    Venue: NCEM

    Join us for a live broadcast of this popular show, presented by Hannah French, and meet selected guests from the 2020 Festival.

    York Lifetime Acheivement Award

    Immediately following the broadcast, the Festival will present its eighth biennial Lifetime Achievement Award to violinist Catherine Mackintosh.

    Catherine Mackintosh (known to the profession as Cat) is one of the most notable pioneers of the British early music scene. After picking up a treble viol while at music college she never looked back. Consort-playing gave her the foundations of understanding the aesthetics and the language of baroque music, and that was soon translated to the violin. She led a number of orchestras, notably Christopher Hogwood’s Academy of Ancient Music, and later co-founded and led the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment for two decades.

    As a founder of the Purcell Quartet she recorded and performed all the major works of the baroque trio-sonata repertoire (and much more) the world over. She was also Britain’s pioneer and champion of the viola d’amore. Cat’s influence as a teacher and educator has been unique and far-reaching, with many generations of violinists, violists and other instrumentalists passing through her hands at the Royal College of Music, the Royal Conservatoire The Hague, and on numerous courses world-wide.

    We make every effort to help with your access needs if you require a wheelchair space or have other specific requirements please let us know in advance of your visit. Click here for full details on NCEM access.


    Personal Basket