Show Data
Florilegium Online
Florilegium Online

Florilegium Online
Single Concert: £10.00
Complete Box Set: £70.00
Baroque in a Box: £40.00

On sale until Wednesday 24 August
Available to view on demand from Monday 1 August – Wednesday 31 August

Filmed in Beverley Minster

Ashley Solomon director/flute
Bojan Cicic (leader and soloist), Agata Daraiskaite, Gabriella Jones violins
Joanna Patrick, Ana Dunne-Sequi violas
Jennifer Morsches cello
Imogen Seth Smith, Henrik Perrson cello/viola da gamba
Carina Cosgrave double bass
Julian Perkins harpsichord

Masterpieces of the Baroque

Bach  Brandenburg Concerto No.6 BWV 1051
Bach  Brandenburg Concerto No.5 BWV 1050
Bach  Brandenburg Concerto No.3 BWV 1048
Bach  Orchestral Suite No.2 in b minor BWV 1067
Bach  Violin Concerto in a minor BWV 1041

In this programme celebrating music by JS Bach, Florilegium present concertos by the great Master in various different guises. The first half consists of three of his Brandenburg Concerti, sent as a collection of six to the Margrave of Brandenburg in 1721. They perfectly demonstrate his mastery in combining different sets of solo instruments, showcasing violas and viola da gambas (Brandenburg 6), 9 solo string parts (Brandenburg 3) as well as the unusual combination of harpsichord, flute and violin (Brandenburg 5). The second half offers further solo opportunities for Bojan Cicic and Ashley Solomon in two of his most popular instrumental works.

‘sensitive phrasing, genuine rhythmic bounce, and when necessary, the smooth touch of a silk cravat.” The Times

Personal Basket