Show Data
Richard Egarr
Richard Egarr

Thursday 11 October 7.30pm
Richard Egarr harpsichord
£18.00 (£16.00 concessions | £5.00 under 35)

J.S. Bach:
Keyboard Partita No.1 in B-flat major, BWV.825 
Keyboard Partita No.4 in D Major, BWV.828 
French Suite No.5 in G major, BWV.816
Keyboard Partita No.6 in E minor, BWV.830

For any composer the publication of an ‘Opus 1’ must be a big deal. Bach’s publication of his Partitas was certainly one such. Its odd history and genesis begins Bach’s decade-long keyboard project which he entitled Clavierübung. Each of its four parts deals with a different constellation of problems technically, musically and philosophically. The Partitas open the journey with a bewildering display of musical and numerological virtuosity.

“High octane, muscular .. stark, raw and searching .. I was gripped by the energy of it all, the urgency – the aching crunches – most of all I loved the sudden segues into some very quiet, very beautiful places in the Sarabandes” Herald Scotland

Please note there is a £1.50 administration charge per transaction

Personal Basket