All Events The Sixteen

The Choral Pilgrimage 2017: The Olive Branch

The Choral Pilgrimage 2017: The Sixteen
Harry Christophers conductor
Eamonn Dougan associate conductor (for Winchester, Croydon and Blackburn performances)

There is a £1.50 transaction fee per booking

If booking for a wheelchair and carer space please ring the box office on 01904 651485 for availability

Programme

Poulenc Salve Regina
Palestrina ‘Surge amica mea’, ‘Parce mihi, Domine’ and ‘Surgam et circuibo civitatem’ from Song of Songs
Poulenc Quatre motets pour un temps de penitence
Palestrina Peccantem me quotidie
Palestrina ‘Kyrie’, ‘Gloria’ and ‘Credo’ from Missa L’Homme Arme
Poulenc Un Soir de neige
Palestrina Salve Regina
Poulenc ‘Agnus Dei’ from Mass in G

Poulenc’s choral music was all written after 1936, when the tragic death of a close friend led to a religious epiphany. Its seriousness and intensity contrast with his more frivolous secular style, but these works make perfect companion pieces for the pure counterpoint of the great Renaissance master, Palestrina.


@TheSixteen
www.facebook.com/The-Sixteen

The National Centre for Early Music offers a professional box office service to a number of clients across the country - for more information, please email boxoffice@ncem.co.uk

Tour dates and locations

May
10 Old Royal Naval College Chapel, Greenwich, 7.30pm
24 Llandaff Cathedral, 7.30pm
25 Exeter Cathedral, 7.30pm
26 Truro Cathedral, 7.30pm

June
15 Croydon Minster, 7.30pm
17 Carlisle Cathedral, 7.30pm
21 All Saints Church, Northampton, 7.30pm

July
11 York Minster, 7.30pm
12 Lancaster Priory, 7.30pm

September
6 St James’ Church Spanish Place, London, 7.30pm Please note there are no toilets or facilities at this venue. There will be a short interval.
8 Wells Cathedral, 7.30pm (Tickets also available at Local Box Office: 01749 672773) 
9 Tewkesbury Abbey, 7.30pm
19 Rochester Cathedral, 7.30pm
21 Southwell Minster, 7.30pm
22 Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral, 7.30pm
23 Blackburn Cathedral, 7.30pm, (conducted by Eamonn Dougan)
30 St Albans Cathedral, 7.30pm (Tickets also available at Local Box Office: 01727 890290)

October
19 Sheffield Anglican Cathedral, 7.30pm
20 Durham Cathedral, 7.30pm
21 Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh, 7.30pm
26 Holy Trinity Church, Hull, 7.30pm
27 Coventry Cathedral, 7.30pm
28 Peterborough, 7.30pm


When & Where

Greenwich, Old Royal Naval Chapel
Enough tickets
Wed, May 10
19:30
Llandaff Cathedral
Enough tickets
Wed, May 24
19:30
Exeter Cathedral
Enough tickets
Thu, May 25
19:30
Truro Cathedral
Enough tickets
Fri, May 26
19:30
Croydon Minster
Enough tickets
Thu, Jun 15
19:30
Carlisle Cathedral
Enough tickets
Sat, Jun 17
19:30
All Saint's Church, Northampton
Enough tickets
Wed, Jun 21
19:30
Lancaster Priory
Enough tickets
Wed, Jul 12
19:30
St James' Church, Spanish Place
Enough tickets
Wed, Sep 6
19:30
Wells Cathedral
Enough tickets
Fri, Sep 8
19:30
Tewkesbury Abbey
Enough tickets
Sat, Sep 9
19:30
Rochester Cathedral
Plenty of tickets
Tue, Sep 19
19:30
Southwell Minster
Enough tickets
Thu, Sep 21
19:30
Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral
Plenty of tickets
Fri, Sep 22
19:30
Blackburn Cathedral
Plenty of tickets
Sat, Sep 23
19:30
St Albans Cathedral
Enough tickets
Sat, Sep 30
19:30
Sheffield Cathedral
Enough tickets
Thu, Oct 19
19:30
Durham Cathedral
Enough tickets
Fri, Oct 20
19:30
Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh
Enough tickets
Sat, Oct 21
19:30
Holy Trinity, Hull
Plenty of tickets
Thu, Oct 26
19:30
Coventry Cathedral
Plenty of tickets
Fri, Oct 27
19:30
Peterborough Cathedral
Plenty of tickets
Sat, Oct 28
19:30

Video

More Info

  • 1001020
  • Beverley Early Music Festival 2017 - Celebrating the 30th Anniversary Year Fri 26th - Mon 29th May 2017
  • https://tickets.ncem.co.uk/en-GB/categories/beverley%20and%20east%20riding%20early%20music%20festival
  • Music by Poulenc & Palestrina
  • The Sixteen and Harry Christophers