York Early Music Online Festival

Yorkshire Baroque Soloists Online

Yorkshire Baroque Soloists Online
Single Concert: £10.00
Complete Box Set: £70.00
Baroque in a Box: £40.00

On Sale Until – 24 August
Available to view on demand from Monday 1 August – Wednesday 31 August

Mhairi Lawson soprano
Anna Huntley mezzo soprano
Jonathan Hanley tenor
Frederick Long bass
Lucy Russell, Magda Loth-Hill violins
Alan George viola
Rachel Gray cello
Carina Cosgrave violone
Edwina Smith, Sarah Moore flutes
Peter Seymour harpsichord, director

Bach's Other Leipzig

Bach’s duties in Leipzig beyond composing for the liturgy at the two churches for which he was responsible. He also wrote four so-called ‘Lutheran masses’ in 1738/39, probably not for Leipzig itself, but using brilliantly florid choral movements alongside glorious arias demanding outstanding solo singing and obbligato instrumental playing. By contrast, the ever-popular ‘Coffee Cantata’, written a few years earlier for Zimmermann’s Caffeehaus, is essentially a miniature comic opera on the pressing subject of coffee addiction.


When & Where

NCEM Online
Plenty of tickets
Wed, Aug 24

Personal Basket